Welcome to the United Nations



  • Ms. Amina J. Mohammed, Deputy Secretary-General of the United Nations 

Click to listen: 

  • ms. selma gušo, advocate and survivor from bosnia and herzegovina

click to listen: 

  • mr. michael møller, under-secretary-general, director-general of the united nations office at geneva

click to listen: 

  • mr. alexander zuev, assistant secretary-general for rule of law and security institutions in the department of peacekeeping operations

click to listen: 

  • ms. abigail hartley, chief of the policy, advocacy and public information section of unmas

click to listen: 

closing ceremony

  • his royal highness prince mired raad zeid al-hussein of jordan

click to listen: 

  • ms. kelly clements, un deputy high commissioner for refugees

click to listen: 

  • ms. selma gušo, advocate and survivor from bosnia and herzegovina

click to listen: 

plenary sessions

  • plenary session one: advancing protection through prevention 

click to listen: 

chair: mr. nhan tran, coordinator, unintentional injury prevention unit, department for the management of noncommunicable diseases, disability, violence and injury prevention, world health organization


1. ms. alexandra frost, research fellow, conflict and health research group, king’s college london

2. mr. yosufi mohammad shafiq, director, directorate of mine action coordination, afghanistan

3. mr. evan rai, child protection specialist, unicef syria

  • plenary session two: enabling safe returns 

click to listen: 

chair: ms. patricia cullen, deputy permanent representative, permanent mission of ireland to the united nations at geneva


1. mr. simon russell, global protection cluster coordinator, unhcr

2. mr. ramesh rajasingham, deputy regional humanitarian coordinator, syria crisis, un

3. mr. abdulkadir abdulle hooshow, national director of somalia explosive management authority

  • plenary session three: the urbanization of conflict: new challenges and best practice 

click to listen: 

chair: ms. sachi claringbould, deputy permanent representative to the conference on disarmament, permanent representation of the netherlands


1. dr. james kearney, head of advocacy, action on armed violence

2. mr. michael talhami, regional water and habitat adviser for the near and middle east, icrc

3. mr. essa al-fayaadh, director general directorate of mine action (dma), iraq

  • plenary session four: no women, no peace 

click to listen: 

chair: ambassador rosemary mccarney, permanent representative of canada to the united nations in geneva


1. ms. maria butler, director of global programmes for women’s international league for peace & freedom

2. ms. arianna calza bini, director, gender and mine action programme

3. mr. sergio bueno aguirre, director, dirección descontamina colombia

  • plenary session five: partnerships for success 

click to listen: 

chair: ambassador mitsuko shino, ambassador and deputy permanent representative of japan to the international organizations in geneva and chief of the consulate of japan in geneva


1. mr. rudolf müller, interim functional lead, coordination division, office for the coordination of humanitarian affairs, geneva

2. ms. einas mohammed, head of defence and security division a.i., african union

3. mr. frank meeussen, eu mine action focal point, european external action service

4. ms. olivia selbie, m&e specialist, unmas

  • plenary session six: developing national capacity for the 2030 agenda 

click to listen: 

co-chairs: ms. glaucia boyer, partnerships, reintegration & livelihoods, undp and mr. mohammad breikat, director, ncdr, jordan


1. mr. saša obradović, director a.i. bhmac, bosnia and herzegovina

2. mr. gazanfar ahmadov, director, anama, azerbaijan

3. ambassador stefano toscano, director, gichd

  • plenary session seven: innovation in mine action 

click to listen: 

co-chairs: brigadier general ziad nasr, director, lebanon mine action center and ms. karen galokale, permanent secretary, ministry of police, national security and correctional services, solomon islands


1. mr. olivier cottray, head of information management, gichd

2. jean-gyl capt, member of the foundation board, urs endress foundation

3. mr. einar bjorgo, programme manager, unosat

4. mr. paul heslop, chief of programme planning and management, unmas

5. mr. joel myhre, phd research fellow, centre for integrated emergency management, university of agder

6. mr. greg crowther, regional director, south and south east asia, mines advisory group (mag)

7. ms. kristina duric, project officer, risk management, gichd

8. mr. hugues laurenge, child protection advisor, child protection in emergencies, unicef

9. Mr. Ken Rutherford, Director, Center for International Stabilization and Recovery and Professor of Political Science, James Madison University